Collaborative Graduate Program in Migration and Ethnic Relations

Faculty Members

The following faculty members are currently able to supervise graduate students in the collaborative program. Representative publications are listed.

Abada, Teresa  - Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, (PhD 2003, University of Alberta): immigration; economic and social capital and integration of immigrants; transnationalism.

tabada@uwo.ca
 

Adams, Tracey L.  - Professor and Chair of Sociology, Department of Sociology, (PhD 1997, University of Toronto): professions; work; gender.

tladams@uwo.ca
 

Arku, Godwin  - Associate Professor, Department of Geography, (PhD 2005, McMaster University): immigrants housing; transnationalism; sanctuary cities; economic development; urban development; policy analysis.

garku@uwo.ca
 

Ballucci, Dale  - Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology, (PhD 2009, University of Alberta): legal decision making in immigration and refugee cases, unaccompanied children.

dballucc@uwo.ca
 

Bangarth, Stephanie  - Associate Professor, Department of History at King's University College, (PhD 2003, University of Waterloo): Canadian human rights and social movements; Canadian immigration and refugee policies.

sbangar@uwo.ca
 

Baruah, Bipasha  - Professor and Canada Research Chair in Global Women's Issues, Department of Women's Studies and Feminist Research, (PhD 2005, York University): Gender, development and globalization; climate change and social justice; women in non-traditional occupations; land and housing rights; NGOs as intermediaries in development.

bbaruah@uwo.ca
 

Baxter, Jamie  - Professor and Associate Dean of Graduate Affairs, Department of Geography (PhD 1997, McMaster University)

jbaxter6@uwo.ca
 

Beaujot, Roderic  - Emeritus Professor, Department of Sociology, (PhD 1975, University of Alberta): Population; family; fertility; immigration; policy.

rbeaujot@uwo.ca
 

Bruhn de Garavito, Joyce  - Professor, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures (PhD 2000, McGill University): Second language acquisition; language in contact; the structure of Nahuatl (language spoken in Mexico); syntax .

joycebg@uwo.ca
 

Buzzelli, Michael  - Associate Professor, Department of Geography. Director of Education and Associate Executive Director, Canadian Policy Network, (PhD 2001, McMaster University)

mbuzzel@uwo.ca
 

Choi, Kate  - Associate Professor, Department of Sociology. (PhD 2010, University of California - Los Angeles): Interracial marriage; immigrant fertility; immigrant health.

hchoi228@uwo.ca
 

Clark, Kim  - Professor and Chair of Anthropology , Department of Anthropology. (PhD 1993, New School for Social Research): Ecuador; historical and political anthropology; indigenous-state relations; gender; anthropology of the state.

akc@uwo.ca
 

Cleveland, Mark  - Professor and Director for the Centre for Research on Migration and Ethnic Relations, DAN Management and Organizational Studies. (PhD 2006, John Molson School of Business, Concordia University): Cross-cultural consumer behavior; globalization and culture' ethnic and social identity; acculturation; culture in consumption; cosmopolitanism; consumer ethnocentrism; cultural values; materialism.

mclevela@uwo.ca
 

Darnell, Regna  - Professor, Department of Anthropology. (PhD 1969, University of Pennsylvania).

rdarnell@uwo.ca
 

Dyczok, Marta  - Associate Professor, Departments of History and Political Science. (DPhil 1995, University of Oxford).

mdyczok@uwo.ca
 

Esses, Victoria  - Professor and Director for the Centre for Research on Migration and Ethnic Relations, Department of Psychology. (PhD 1986, University of Toronto): Immigration policy and practice; factors affecting the settlement and integration of immigrants and refugees; ethnic relations; public attitudes towards immigrants; stereotypes,prejudice, and discrimination.

vesses@uwo.ca
 

Farah, Randa  - Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology. (PhD&nbsp1999, University of Toronto): Refugees; involuntary displacement; history/memory and identity; nations and nationalisms, humanitarianism.

rfarah2@uwo.ca
 

Flath, James  - Associate Professor, Department of History, (PhD 2000, University of British Columbia).

jflath@uwo.ca
 

Gilliland, Jason  - Professor and Director of the Urban Development Program, Department of Geography. (Phd 2002, McGill University).

jgillila@uwo.ca
 

Granadillo, Tania  - Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology. (University of Arizona).

tgranadi@uwo.ca
 

Halpern, Monda  - Associate Professor, Department of History (PhD 1997, Queen's University): Canadian and American Jewish History.

halpern@uwo.ca
 

Hopkins, Jeff  - Associate Professor and Graduate Chair of Geography, Department of Geography. (PhD 1992, McGill University).

jhopkins@uwo.ca
 

Jorgensen, Dan  - Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology. (PhD 1981, University of British Columbia).

dwj@uwo.ca
 

Lawson, Erica -  Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Chair, Department of Women's Studies and Feminist Research. (University of Toronto).

elawso3@uwo.ca
 

Lehmann, Wolfgang  - Associate Professor and Undergraduate Program Chair, Department of Sociology. (PhD 2003, University of Alberta).

wlehmann@uwo.ca
 

Levine, Charles G.  - Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, (University of Alberta).

clevine@uwo.ca
 

Lozanski, Kristin  - Associate Professor, Department of Sociology at King's University College. (PhD 2008, University of Alberta): Global Im/mobilities; citizenship; migrant labour; transnational reproduction; travel/tourism; critical theory.

klozansk@uwo.ca
 

Luginaah, Isaac  - Associate Professor, Department of Geography, (PhD 2001, McMaster University).

iluginaa@uwo.ca
 

Margolis, Rachel  - Associate Professor, Department of Sociology. (PhD 2011, University of Pennsylvania): demography; families; population health.

rachel.margolis@uwo.ca
 

Miller, James  - Associate Professor and Director of the Pride Library, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures.

jmiller@uwo.ca
 

Muller, Benjamin  - Associate Professor, Department of Political Science at King's University College. (PhD 2005, Queen's University of Belfast): Borders and borderlands studies; critical security studies; international political sociology; biometric technology and border security; politics of mobility; citizenship and migration studies.

bmuller@uwo.ca
 

Nathans, Eli  - Associate Professor, Department of History (PhD 2001, Johns Hopkins University).

enathans@uwo.ca
 

Pearson, Wendy G.  - Associate Professor and Chair of Women's Studies and Feminist Research, Department of Women's Studies and Feminist Research. (PhD 2004, University of Wollongong).

wpearson@uwo.ca
 

Pennesi, Karen  - Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology. (PhD 2007, University of Arizona): Language and identity; issues with diversity of personal names in Canada; immigrant integration, performance of social identities; cross-cultural understandings of environment.

pennesi@uwo.ca
 

Quinn, Joanna  -–Associate Professor, Department of Political Science. (PhD 2003, McMaster University): Truth; conflict; transitional justice; law .

jquinn2@uwo.ca
 

Rafat, Yasaman  - Assistant Professor, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures. (PhD 2011, University of Toronto): Second language speech learning; bilingualism; language attrition.

yrafat@uwo.ca
 

Robin, Alena  - Associate Professor and Graduate Chair of Hispanic Studies, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures. (PhD 2007, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México): Colonial Mexican art; Latin American art in Canada; transatlantic studies; passion of Christ.

arobin82@uwo.ca
 

Rothstein, Mitch  - Professor, DAN Management and Organizational Studies. (PhD 1983, University of Western Ontario).

mgrothst@uwo.ca
 

White, Jerry  - Professor, Department of Sociology, (PhD 1988, McMaster University): Indigenous communities; indigenous health and well-being; Aboriginal policy.

white@uwo.ca
 

Wolff, Victoria  - Assistant Professor, Department of Hispanic Studies. (PhD 2008, McGill University): Interartistic approaches to Hispanic literature; transatlantic studies; intersections of research and teaching; community engaged learning.

vwolff@uwo.ca